No child left behind?

My grand-child’s cousin tested poorly and had to repeat kindergarten when he moved to Denver. He is a smart boy. Unfortunately, there were only three English speaking children in his 25 pupil kindergarten class and the teacher, a native Spanish speaker, taught the class in Spanish.

This wasn’t in Mexico. It was in central Colorado on the I-70 corridor.

2 Responses to No child left behind?

  1. marlajayne says:

    I’m speechless. What’s the family going to do?

  2. I have a rather large library. I saved all my college textbooks and have purchased good books on a wide range of topics for students at all levels. My thought is that responsible parents should be able to educate their children, if needed, without depending on other so called experts to do it for them.

    I’m not necessarily a fan of homeschooling. I’ve seen it work and I’ve seen it fail miserably. My children were educated in public schools and received an excellent education. However, I am a fan of choosing the best combination of options available.

    When one of my daughter’s math teachers failed in her responsibility to teach Algebra, I taught my daughter Algebra after school to make sure she was prepared for her next math class. It worked and she was not left behind.

    My library, my education and my educated children can provide options for my grandchildren (if it becomes necessary). In the mean time, I will sound the alarm and be politically active in my community.

Leave a Reply

