Happy Mother’s Day

By Janet Walgren

When my great-grandmother Walgren died, she left a letter for her children and her posterity that would come after her. When I became an adult, my grandmother gave me a copy of the letter; she had it made into a little booklet and tucked it into a quilt she made for me by hand. The book is one of my little treasures.

The letter addresses each of my great-grandmother’s children individually telling them how much she loved them and expressing her concerns and aspirations for their futures. She then told them her thoughts and beliefs on the subjects of family, finances, politics and faith. She apologized for her shortcomings and ended with these lines:

Think of me as the dawn into the dimness, yours still, you mine.

Remember the best of our past moments and forget the rest.

So to where I wait come gently on.

Your Mother

I love these lines. They let me know that I have a great-grandma up in heaven watching over me and waiting for me. I know that no matter what else is going on in my life, I am loved, that she cares.

Each child is different. They are unique individuals. I think that is why children don’t come with instruction manuals. I also think that is why mothers come in all shapes and sizes with unique personalities and perspectives. According to worldly standards, some mothers and children are better than others because of role models, education, and other opportunities. But does God really care if a child is a star athlete, cheerleader, musician or student with great test scores? Perhaps he looks deeper and searches the heart. I think he cares about goodness and love.

I can’t imagine what it must be like for mothers holding babies to their breast as bombs and bullets fly around them and I grieve for the mother who has lost her child.

I am saddened by young women who are waiting for a husband, or a baby and it pains me to know that many will wait a life time without the joy of family or motherhood.

I believe that most mothers do their very best according to the knowledge and resources that they have at their disposal and I say, “Good for you!”

To all the mothers out there, Happy Mother’s Day. May God bless you all.

4 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Saraswathi says:

    Lovely post Janet!

    Loved the lines written by your great-grandmother. Mother’s are indeed the best treasures !

    I called up my mother(in India) and wished her happy mother’s day! And a very happy mother’s day to you too 🙂

  2. BARLOW says:

    hi janet, happy belated m day to you, i went around to all my special blogging girls and wished them a happy m day and my wife and daughters and daughter’s in law….so special they and you all are

  3. marlajayne says:

    Janet, I loved this post. At lunch the other day a friend of mine mentioned that she was writing a letter to her son. “Nice,” I thought. Then she went on to say that she had been writing it since he was a baby, and he’s now in his early 30’s. Another woman then piped up and said that she was doing the same thing for both of her sons.

    Your post reminded me of something a man said in F & T Meeting a couple of weeks ago. He said that we are where we are and living the lives we’re living largely because of the choices of our ancestors. He then went on to talk a little about the importance of the choices that we ourselves make because of the effect on our posterity. It sort of gave me chills to think about the unborn children who will be affected by what I do and say.

  4. Saraswathi thank you for your kind wish. Yes, mothers and grandmothers are treasures.

    Barlow, thank you very much. I really appreciate being considered one of your special blogging girls.

    Marlajayne, thanks. It is an awe inspiring thought that our daily actions will determine the destiny of nations. My mom and dad have over 150 direct descendants. Wow! I don’t think that Nephi had any idea what impact his journal would have on the world any more than my great-grandma did when she wrote her letter. Actually that is the main reason I started this blog and named it Reflections. If you go back and read a lot of my earlier posts, you will see some of my history that is written especially for my posterity.

Leave a Reply

