Happy Easter

By Janet Walgren
I remember when my oldest daughter, Jamie gave her first talk in church. It was on Easter. She was little and more than a little bit shy. She struggled to learn her talk and was so nervous that she was afraid that she wouldn’t remember the words. She couldn’t read yet so I drew pictures on note cards to help her remember, then I taught her the talk by singing a chant as I flipped through the cards. It was almost 30 years ago but I can still remember the talk.

Some people think that Easter is a  bunch of colored eggs,
But Easter is when Jesus died and rose in just three days.
Because Jesus died and rose again, we can live with him,
If we are true and faithful, till the very end.

I was afraid that Jamie was going to sing instead of speak when she gave her talk. I guess that wouldn’t have been so bad anyway. I love to sing in church. My favorite hymn is “I Stand All Amazed.” It reminds me of the sacrifice that Jesus made so that I could be resurrected and forgiven of my sins:

I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me,
Confused at the grace that so fully he proffers me,
I tremble to know that for me he was crucified
That for me a sinner he suffered, he bled and died.

I marvel that he would descend from his throne divine,
To rescue a soul so rebellious and proud as mine,
That he should extend his great love unto such as I,
Sufficient to own to redeem, and to justify.

I think of his hands pierced and bleeding to pay the debt,
Such mercy such love, and devotion can I forget?
No, no I will praise and adore at the mercy seat,
Until at the glorified throne I kneel at his feet.

Oh it is wonderful that he should care for me enough to die for me!
Oh it is wonderful, wonderful to me.

I hope that in all your celebrating today, that you will look beyond the colored eggs, fancy new clothing, bunnies… and remember the real reason for the holiday. I hope that we will think about our savior’s sacrifice and show our appreciation by repenting of our sins.

 Happy Easter! Thank you Jesus!

2 Responses to Happy Easter

  1. marlajayne says:

    Nice reminder of the meaning behind Easter. While we (my family) always commemorate the day, somehow for us it doesn’t have the buildup and ongoing type of celebratory feel that Christmas has. For Christmas, we prepare for weeks, buy tons of unnecessary gifts, decorate nearly every room of the house, host and attend lots of events, and yet for Easter we tend to focus on the one day. Weird, huh? This is something I need to work on in my family.

  2. Hi Janet,
    I have been hearing a lot about the Polygamist sect and the abuses that are being committed. I remembering you mentioning that you belong to the mormon faith. I heard that mormon’s also believe in polygamy. I want to understand more about this religion. Can you point me to some sources or would you be able to write to me/do a post on this. I hope you don’t mind me asking.

Leave a Reply

