Parking your bad habits

By Janet Walgren
I had a friend who loved donuts so much that she ate dozens every day. Then one day her doctor warned her that if she didn’t stop eating donuts she would soon die of a heart attack. My friend was devastated. Why hadn’t someone warned her sooner about the harmful effects that donuts have on the body? She vowed to make a change in her diet and promised her doctor that she would give up donuts completely. She was going on the wagon!

On the way home from her doctors my friend passed her favorite donut shop. Just the thought of chocolate donuts made her salivate. She reasoned that it wouldn’t hurt her to have a farewell donut this one last time, but just to make sure it was OK, she thought she would ask for a sign. “I will drive through the parking lot,” she thought to herself, “If there is a parking spot directly in front of the donut shop, it will be a sign that it is OK to have just one more donut.” Well sure enough, on her seventh trip around the parking lot there was a spot directly in front of the donut shop and before she knew it, she heard herself saying, “I’ll have a dozen of the chocolate donuts and…”

This may seem a little bit funny if donuts are not your problem, but we all have our favorite sins and transgressions.  How many trips around the parking lot does it take you to justify your harmful habits and inapropriate behaviors? Do you have habits that you need to overcome or areas in your life that could use improvement? This is my year to do better! How about you?

4 Responses to Parking your bad habits

  1. Saraswathi says:

    Janet,

    I came across your blog through Archana’s blog.

    Very relevant post. All of us try to justify or cover up our bad habits and pacify ourselves that we will not do it the next time. But we end up doing them over and over again.

    I have this bad habit of getting up late in the morning. I try very hard each morning to rise early but most of the time I say to myself, “Ok, ten more minutes let me sleep”, and it goes on and I wake up late. Thanks to your post, I will try to rectify this habit.

    Having a strong will-power to overcome our weaknesses and bad habits is surely necessary.

    Great blog, Janet! 🙂

  2. Hi Saraswathi and welcome to my blog. I love reading Archana’s blog too.

    This year I’m working on the physical me. It used to be fun and easy when I was young. Now I see people my age that can barely move and I don’t want to be like them. Exercise and diet are my two big goals. I’ll let you know how I am doing from time to time.

    Please let me know how it goes with your mind over mattress battle. Good luck:)

  3. Saraswathi says:

    Janet,

    I will surely keep you updated about how my “waking up early” is going about. I would love to hear updates from you about how your goals for this year are shaping up.

  4. jayne says:

    I just have to post this quote that I found in a little book called Winning Words by Allen Klein. (Why didn’t I think of compiling a book of quotes and getting it published???) Anyway, here goes: “When I buy bookes I just eat four and throw the rest away. But first I spray them with Raid so I won’t dig them out of the garbage later. Be careful, though, because that Raid really doesn’t taste that bad.” Janette Barber

Leave a Reply

