Treasures of India

By Janet Walgren
A few weeks ago Archana posted some pictures of India’s countryside on her blog. I commented and asked her to post more about India. She did and dedicated the blog post to me:

Tribal Art of India
January 25, 2008 by Archana

A couple of weeks back I had written a post on my visit to the Countryside. I received the following comment from Janet Walgren:

“In America we only see the travel posters with snake charmers or news clips of crowded buses and poverty stricken slums full of starving people. I am certain that I have never seen a photo that would entice me to travel to your country until now. You showed me a face of India that I have never seen before … I do hope that you will post more photos to show the world the beauty that surrounds you.” I was really moved by her comment. It also made me realize, that not only abroad but even in India many people are unaware of the treasures that lie hidden in their own country. I dedicate this post to Janet Walgren.My cousin sister is an artist and has great interest in tribal art forms of India. These pictures are from her collection. Most of these art forms are associated with religious rituals and boast of an unbroken tradition of many hundreds and in some case 1000s of years.

I was touched by the art and especially intrigued by the four prints of “The Tree of Life” I encourage you to check out Archana’s post and hope that you find it as interesting as I did.

8 Responses to Treasures of India

  1. Janet – Thank you very much for your kind words on my blog and for linking my post. I will regularly post pictures from India. Keep visiting and thanks once again for your encouragement.

  2. Archana, You are welcome. I really enjoy reading your blog and the art and photos are wonderful. Thank you for posting them and I will definitely keep visiting your blog.

  3. leafless says:

    I checked the link. It sure is an eye-opening post. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Hi Janet,
    Thank you for spreading the story of Kausalya to you colleagues. She is truly inspirational. Here is another story which might interest you.

    http://archanaraghuram.wordpress.com/2007/08/04/my-experiences-with-truth%e2%80%a6/

  5. Hi Janet,
    Thank you for spreading the story of Kausalya to you colleagues. She is truly inspirational. Here is another story which might interest you.

    http://archanaraghuram.wordpress.com/2007/08/04/my-experiences-with-truth%e2%80%a6/

  6. Archana,

    Thank you for the link. I have already read that post and found it interesting as well. I love stories that demonstrate the best of human nature even in difficult situations. It is easy to be good when there is no opposition. Being good all the time regardless of the consequences is an entirely different matter.

    I once heard of a time when a black man was brought before the prophet of my church. He had been accused of stealing. He told the prophet that he had to steal to buy his child out of slavery. The prophet told him that he must not steal and had him pay a fine. After the fine was paid, the prophet gave the man a large useful horse to sell for the money to buy his child out of slavery.

    Hearing of the sad state of some peoples lives makes me so grateful for the blessings that I have in my own life. I am so blessed to have born at the time and in the place where I dwell. I have so many privileges and along with that comes great obligations and responsibilities.

  7. kamal says:

    i realy read and enjoyed your blog it’s really intresting but i want to know about the treasurs of indian kings actually i m intrested in searching of treasure like diamonds gold coins etc.etc. can u help me. if u can send me the detail on that topic than pls send it to me as soon as possible

  8. Kamal,

    The treasure of a land is in its people and culture. That is where there is lasting value. I enjoyed Archana’s photos of the land and art. I don’t know anything of diamonds and gold coins. Sorry.

    On a side note: I do know that people usually prosper porportionately in degree as to how well their culture treats women and children. If you want to be rich, start by evaluating how well you honor women and children.

Leave a Reply

