Year End Review/Life In Review

By Janet Walgren

Year End Review~
2007 was an excellent year. One of the best that I have had in a very long time. I was able to accomplish several of my goals and see my youngest daughter do the same.  

Financially – my daughter and I were able to greet the new year debt free with the exception of student loans. We were both able to greet the new year with a very nice amount of savings in our individual bank accounts. We both have good jobs that we like and all of our possessions are paid for.

Physically – we are in better health than we were a year ago. For several years now I have needed an operation to restore the sight in my left eye. I now have the funds and the medical insurance to provide for the operation. My doctor appointment to start the process is on the 4th so I am very excited. We have started a new exercise regime and altered our diet and lifestyle so we are excited for the prospects that this new year will bring.

Spiritually – we are happy with our lives and feel very content. There are seasons in life and 2007 was a season of harvest, a season of wonderful blessings. God was very good to us last year. We know that God loves, blesses and chastens all of his children. We know that all seasons have an end. As we enter this new year we are grateful for the past seasons of our lives and look forward with faith to what ever God sees fit to bestow on our heads for our profit and learning.

Life In Review ~
Tonight my daughter and I went on a ride to view the Christmas lights for the last time this season. As we were driving we were talking about our lives and our accomplishments. My daughter graduated from college this year. She got the job that she really wanted. She loves her job and the company that she works for. My job has been going very well and recently I have been given new opportunities that will be fun and challenging.

I have six wonderful children and eleven awesome grandchildren that I am totally in love with. I am pleased with my family and the progress that they are making in developing their potential. We love and respect each other. We are friends.

As we were driving and talking, we passed the J. Ruben Clark Law School on BYU’s campus. (I wanted to go to law school when I was in college but my health and my eyesight prevented further education at the time I graduated.) Next, we passed the Provo, Utah temple. As we drove past the law school and then the temple, I had an interesting thought come to mind. Although I am happy and satisfied with my life, I wondered how my life was measuring up compared to my potential. Would God be satisfied with my life? I wondered, will I be satisfied with my life when God shows me what my true potential was, or will I be disappointed? I vowed to do better in 2008.

How is your life stacking up?

2 Responses to Year End Review/Life In Review

  1. marlajayne says:

    Another great post! I know I’ll be visiting this site again. It seems that we speak the same language and are in the same age cohort. One of my daughters and I flew out to SLC on a whim a couple of years ago because we felt that it was a necessity to see the lights at Temple Square. One day we drove over to Provo because I wanted to see the MTC where my son had spent eight weeks preparing to serve a mission in Mexico. I recall the beauty and uniqueness of the Provo temple and how it sat so majestically atop a hill across from the MTC. It was under construction at the time, but we were impressed with it nonetheless.

    How’s my life stacking up? As my son often says, “It’s all good.” Even in times of doubt, indecision, adversity, frustration, or sadness, I know that things will work out.

  2. Marlajayne

    Thanks again! I’m glad that you want to come back. I’ll do my best to be worthy of your visits. I too love the lights on Temple Square at Christmas or any time of year. I’m glad that you got to visit and see the sights.

    I’m happy to know that your life is stacking up in a good way. Isn’t life grand when you get old enough to know that everything will work out and it’s all good? I love it.

Leave a Reply

