Return to Reason and Vote Intelligently

By Janet Walgren
My uncle was a sniper during WWII and the Korean war. He never intended to be one; he was just too good of a shot. He was in almost every major battle in the South Pacific and was an assassin trapped behind enemy lines in Korea after he took out a North Korean General.  His life was pretty intense. For R&R he loved to start a fight then sit on a roof or in a protected corner and watch the brawl; it calmed his nerves. HE WOULD HAVE MADE A GREAT POLITICIAN.

It is election season again. I am 60 years old so I have seen a lot of elections in my life and they are all the same. Only the names of the fighters have changed to protect the anonymous puppeteers. You would think that after several hundred years of practice, Americans would finally get it, but we don’t. During election campaigns, we willingly brawl with each other as candidate after candidate starts fight after fight while their puppeteers sit in a protected corner of the universe stealing our liberty, our freedoms, our government and our country. Why are we sleeping? Why can’t we wake up to the truth? What is the Constitutional job description for the office? Is the candidate experienced and capable of doing THE JOB described?

Politics is a divide and conquer game for those who pull the puppet’s strings. That is the real reason that so many contentious issues that are (or at least should be) reserved to the states become hot bed issues in national elections. I think that every voter should have to pass a simple test on the U.S. Constitution before they can register to vote. Seem as how we can’t do that, we should at least find out if the candidates could pass a test on the Constitution.

What do marriage, education and medical issues have to do with the jobs of the U.S. President or Congress? If I went to work and talked all day about marbles, I would get fired. The company that I work for isn’t in the marble business. Issues regarding marriage, education and medicine (abortion) belong to the states. Why should they even be discussed in a campaign for a national office? I would prefer to hear candidates talk about solutions to problems that have or could arise within the scope of their own job descriptions.

Since when can The Judicial Branch tell the local police that they can’t enforce a constitutional law because it will hurt business? Since when can a the Executive Branch decide to rob us of Habeas Corpus? Since when can The Judicial Branch decide to expand the law of eminent domain to allow private corporations to rob us of our land? Where is the oversight, the checks and balances guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution? Judges don’t make laws. They enforce them! Presidents don’t make laws. They administer them! Presidents don’t declare wars! Or at least they shouldn’t. That is the job of Congress. I think that there are too many federal officials in all three branches of our government who are declaring war…war on the U.S. Constitution, war on states rights, war on the legal citizens of the United States of America, war on the entire world. Why? To what end? 

Perhaps it is time that the states that make up America become UNITED and take a stand against the whores in Washington D.C. Our capitol has become the biggest brothel in the world. I hope that every voter will take time to read the U.S. Constitution and really study it. Then, I hope that reason will return and that we, THE CITIZENS of the United States of America, the only ones who own a vote, will unite to vote ALL the whores out of office.

3 Responses to Return to Reason and Vote Intelligently

  1. opit says:

    I like your sentiments. There is a problem.
    http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2006/5/9/205251/2950

  2. Heather says:

    Every time I try to write my elected officials to make my voice heard I have to fill out a survey, confirm I am a registered voter in their district, and select one their preconceived topic categories in order to voice my concerns. I wouldn’t half mind if I thought my voice made any difference to the policies my congressmen followed, but instead of listening they send back automated replies and spam my email address to solicit funds for their next election.

    I’m okay with people disagreeing with me when they have a valid, yet different, opinion, but it makes me mad when someone I hire and pay to represent me won’t even listen to my input because some special interest group is bribing him not to listen. And yet, most of these jerks are still in office!

    It amazes me that we keep on electing these people because we think they are the best option out of the slim pickings that run. When you stop and ask yourself, “Are these the best our country can offer?” it seems ridiculous that we aren’t more active in seeking out wise, honest candidates.

    Let me know if you know of any likely candidates I can write in. Right now, I’m pretty disgusted with everyone, except Ron Paul.

  3. Sean says:

    Agreed. I sometimes wonder what our nation’s founding fathers would think if they came here today. I think Jefferson would scarcely recognize his ideas in practice today.

Leave a Reply

