Are You Dumber Than Dirt?

By Janet Walgren 
I have always considered myself to be reasonably intelligent. I am educated; I graduated from college with honors. I have common sense and consider myself to be fairly wise. Throughout my life I have encountered friends and associates that have close ties to the soil. Heck, even my own ancestors have farming and gardening backgrounds. There is a peculiar saying these down to earth folk use that has always amused me. It is, “He is dumber than dirt.” Now I can think of a lot of folks that are dumber than I am, but how can you be dumber than dirt?

The speaker at church today was from common stock. His subject was obedience. He told of scriptures that showed how the elements obeyed God’s command. Moses held out his staff and the waters of the Red Sea parted at God’s command. Mountains moved at the Prophet Enoch’s command. The earth moves according to God’s command. The elements obey God’s commands perfectly…even the dirt. As the speaker was winding up his talk, he concluded, “The dirt gets it, we don’t!” It was then that I realized that we (all of us) are dumber than dirt.

2 Responses to Are You Dumber Than Dirt?

  1. marlajayne says:

    This is an interesting expression, that’s for sure. Last summer, I wrote something about how powerful (maybe there’s a better word) dirt actually is. We moved into a new house (new to us) that needed some landscaping, and so we bought some plants and lovely flowers and went to work. After the fruits of our labor began to grow and blossom, it occurred to me that the elements of soil combined with just the right amout of water had wrought those miraculous results.

  2. Isn’t dirt amazing? It is interesting how God’s creations obey His commands and combine to bless our lives in every season. Everything testifies of God and creation. I just don’t get how anyone could doubt it.

Leave a Reply

