End of the journey

By Janet Walgren
Today I found a quote that I really like. It reminds me of my philosophy for living life:

“Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, ‘Wow – What a ride!'”

~Peter Sage

If parents really understood this, internalized this, and realized that this is the plan of Heaven, I wonder how they would parent differently. If a child is never given feet then wings, how can they turn around and teach their own children how to fly?

One Response to End of the journey

  1. Holly says:

    I really like that quote! That is a good philosophy–I have lived too cautiously in many ways. When I read this I couldn’t help think of a picture I saw of one of the elders’ shoes from my mission–they were definitely “thoroughly used up, totally worn out.”

Leave a Reply

