The Sun-Dial poem, seize the moment

By Janet Walgren
My daughter, Heather will be coming home from England on Wednesday and I am so excited to see her. It has been a fun experience to manage her blog and share her internship adventure with her. You can click on the Archives of My Mind link to read about her internship. In reflecting about the many things that I have learned and observed while she has been gone, I think that the one thing that stands out the most in my mind is the power of seizing the moment. Everyone has the same amount of time every day. We all get exactly 24 hours. We can’t save them; we can only spend them and how we spend them, what we spend them on, will make all the difference for us in eternity. I can tell that this has been a very good trip for my daughter. I can see that she has grown.

When Heather was little, we lived near a street with large castle houses on it and she used to talk about wanting to live in a castle when she grew up. Then she modified her desire to a mansion, then a large house, then to a home that is sufficient for her family’s needs.

Immediately prior to Heather’s internship, her dream job in her dream location opened very unexpectedly for BYU graduates with a genealogy background. This job normally requires a MLS so she was very excited to apply for it. I noticed when checking on something the other day, that she did not apply for the job and I knew that she had come to a fork in the road and had made an eternal decision. She has grown.

I know that several high school students in Taiwan are reading my blog now. Thank you for visiting with me. Some of you are graduating and have come to a fork in your road of life. I would like to congratulate you on your accomplishments and encourage you to embrace the future by seizing the moment that is now in your hand. Making right choices isn’t always easy but life is so worth living. It takes faith to make right choices and if you do the future will take care of itself.  

This poem is known as “The Sun-Dial Poem.” It is on a sun dial at Wells College in New York State, USA. I would like to share it with you because it has been my reminder to seize the moment and make the best of each day.

“The Sun-Dial at Wells College”

The shadow by my finger cast
Divides the future from the past:
Before it, sleeps the unborn hour,
In darkness, and beyond thy power:
Behind its unreturning line,
The vanished hour, no longer thine:
One hour alone is in thy hands,
The now on which the shadow stands.

~ Henry Van Dyke 1911

I hope and pray that everyone who reads this entry will have a wonderful life. May God bless you all with the faith to seize the moment and make right choices.

Leave a Reply

