The teenage crush & the drive by

By Janet Walgren
I can’t think of any subject that is more sensitive than “The Teenage Crush”. Each of my daughters was very different when it came to boys, and as for Kris, what can I say, the girls loved him. I can remember Kris walking to church with a basket of flowers that he had purchased for a girl. He was so nervous that he started picking the petals off the flowers saying, “She loves me. She loves me not.” I think that he would have stripped the flowers bare if it hadn’t been for him walking smack dab into the middle of a sign post. The basket of flowers ended up in a waste basket in the church foyer.

One time we were having a birthday party for Kris and a girl slipped him a love note. Kris read it and nodded a thank you then said, “Hey mom, this is really cool. Look!” I thought the girl was going to die on the spot. His friends gasp and queried, “You let your mom read your notes?” It didn’t cool things down any; the girls just solicited my help after that.

Jamie was a little different. Well a lot different. When a guy called her the first time, her sister handed her the phone and said, “It’s Chris!” Jamie thought it was her brother, Kris and was so stunned (you know that deer in the headlights kind of thing) that she hung up on the poor guy. A few days later the guy ran across town (a long up hill jaunt) to see her and she shut the door in his face. I asked her, “What’s the matter? “Don’t you like him?” Sure she replied. She had a fine way of showing it. We didn’t tease her. It was taboo.

When Helen noticed boys, they noticed her back. She was our social butterfly. One day in a life skills class, a guy who had a long time crush on her looked at her homework. They were supposed to design a house, set it up on paper and furnish it on a budget. Helen chose a king-size bed and had drawn the floor plan for the bedroom- furniture and all. When Nick saw it he said, “Boy, Helen, that bed is big enough for three husbands! Nick was red faced with disbelief that he had actually blurted it out loud.

Helen laughed and said, “Well Nick, how many husbands do you plan on having?”

Nick replied, “One… one WIFE!” The entire class was staring and laughing at him. He continued, “Blonde hair, blue eyes, wearing a blue jean jacket…” Helen giggled and gave him a light kiss on the forehead saying, “Nick, you’ll always be my good friend.”

With the kiss and the soft words, Nick recovered and said, “Hark, I’ve been kissed,” and the class went on as normal.

A few years later, we were living across town in a beautiful forested area by the Spokane River. We often drove along the bluff and looked down to see the grandeur of nature in our backyard. A moose would wade into the river and use his antlers to throw water on his back, and there were deer and birds and other wildlife.

One day we discovered that one of the houses along that road belonged to a guy that Helen had a crush on and all of a sudden our ride became a “drive by,” at least to Helen, and thus it was dubbed. We started to tease her and would burst into song.. “I often drove down this street before, but the pavement always stayed beneath my wheels before…” as we drove by. Helen loved it and often on our way home from church or the city, Helen would beg for a drive by.

All was in good fun and the guy never knew about it, but one night, Jamie was driving and there was a dense fog. Jamie couldn’t even see the road and just wanted to get home, but Helen was begging for a drive by. Finally I said, “Jamie it is only one block out of the way. Just humor your sister. What will it hurt?” Obediently, Jamie turned the car down the block, but when we got to the guys house, Jamie stood on the brakes and laid on the horn. Everyone screamed, “Jamie!!!” As I said, “Step on the gas. Step on the gas. Step on the gas.” I think that was Jamie’s favorite drive by.

2 Responses to The teenage crush & the drive by

  1. Brooke says:

    This post has such a sense of pure/down-to-earth family/growing up memories. It was so much fun to read and connect with every single one of your children and their endeavors with relationships.

    I, myself, am in the dating stage of life. Thus far, it has been a roller coaster of emotions– extreme giddiness to the depths of despair (as Anne of Green Gables would put it) and everything in between. I’ve done my share of petal plucking (“he loves me, he loves me not…”), driving by (“I see him…GO! GO! GO!) and being shy (I…[heart races]…uh..[sweat flows from places one wouldn’t even think a sweat gland could be located]… you… [knee strength weakens]…. um…[blushing occurs] … yeah..[all previously mentioned symptoms continue at worsened levels]…BYE!!!! [it is now safe to run to your nearest restroom and either vomit or cry out of embarrassment]). Hopefully, even with all the heartache attached to twitterpation, I’ll be able to combine my memories– good and bad– and write out a few good stories, blogs, and/or journal entries! 🙂

  2. Hi Brook and welcome to my blog. I enjoyed your comment. Thank you. Dating is at best difficult and awkward at any stage of life and blushing occurs just as easy at 60 as it does at 20. My girls made sure that I found this out.

    When Heather and I were driving the streets of Longview looking for yard sales, I unknowingly drove down a street where two brothers lived. These brothers drove her to seminary every morning. When I saw them and they saw me, I waved. “Oh no… No… No… NO! Mom, you don’t do that!”

    “Why not,” I inquired as I turned the car around and drove back to talk to them. I thought Heather was going to die. We had a good conversation and as a result of the encounter, Heather and her best friend got a group date with the brothers. Do you think that she said, “thank you?” No way! Instead she told her sister how embarrassed she felt and she and her sister got even with me by telling our home teacher that I was single, available and complaining that there were no men my age to date… Then they suggested that he should find someone to take me out. May Day! May Day!! May Day!!! I thought that I was going to die.

Leave a Reply

