Blogging for One

By Janet Walgren
Next weekend I am having a yard sale to help my daughter pay for her internship in England. Today I am in the middle of a massive spring cleaning project in preparation for the event. Originally the yard sale was scheduled to occur prior to her departure, but then my son moved, and then it rained. Several friends and co-workers have contributed to make this a big success, so now I have a massive mess of treasures climbing the walls and taking over the floor of my living room While I do appreciate the generosity of all those who have contributed, I am beginning to dread the thought of the massive trips to DI if things don’t sell.

Here are some random thoughts I have had throughout the day:

While moving my treadmill and weight machine to vacuum and dust:
Oh where is my man child when I need a lift, oh I mean need him to lift? 

While looking at my stack of large cast iron pans:

Should I retire these, or archive them?

When moving a fan:
What’s the purpose of a fan on a hot summer’s night? It just blows hot air! 

While lifting a box of books:
When Heather gets married, I wonder if I can move out and leave everything to her. 

While looking at the 32 dozen boxes of empty canning jars:
To sell or not to sell, that is the question –
If you leave them alone, your kids will come home –
And when they got there, her cupboards were bare –
I think I will continue canning…And that is my final answer! 

When dusting:
If dust is made of dust mites and I am made from dust,
does that make me a massive lump of dust mites?

When cleaning the bathroom – My absolute favorite Jim story:

Our son Keli was not quite two when he toddled into the living room and said,
“dink daddy dink,” and held out a paper cup of water.  
Jim took it and drank it down. “Um buddy, that pretty good!”
He said and then Jim refocused on the TV. 
 
With that Keli toddled off and came back a minute or so later.
“Dink daddy dink,” he said again.
 
Jim took it and drank it down. “Um buddy, that pretty good!”
He said and then Jim refocused on the TV.
With that Keli toddled off and came back a minute or so later.

Jim didn’t like his TV to be interrupted so he drilled a hole in the center beam of the vaulted ceiling in our family room and hung our TV from the ceiling by a hangman’s noose.

“Dink daddy dink,” he said again. Jim took it and drank it down.
“Um buddy, that pretty good!” After about the fifth round of this,
something kicked in and Jim started thinking…hmm, Keli can’t reach
the sink or turn on the faucet yet…
“Dink daddy dink!” Keli offered Jim another cup of water.
“That’s pretty good water you got there buddy, where did you get it?” 
Jim said as he drank it down.
“Fum the toddie daddy… fum the toddie!”   

Need I say more?  There is nothing like fun memories to lighten a heavy day.
I hope that you have a nice day too!

Leave a Reply

