TIME


By
Janet Walgren
If I were to list the statements that I hear from overwhelmed friends, students, and co-workers and rank them by frequency, the top statements on the list would all involve time:

– I just don’t have time.
I am overwhelmed with too much to do and too little time.
There aren’t enough hours in a day to do everything AND…
I don’t know how I am going to manage this and everything else…
I haven’t touched this for months…I just don’t have time.
With work and my family, I don’t have any time left for me.

Contrast that list with this list of comments involving time that I hear at work while interacting with my co-workers during the day:

– Can you get this for me by noon?
Please schedule this for Friday 10:00 A.M. Pacific Time.
I need you to schedule Monday, February 26th from 1:00 to 2:00 P.M. Pacific Time for your class.
Please have your management reports ready on Monday by noon so that I can review them before the meeting.
Can we schedule a conference call for 45 minutes on Monday, February 5th from 11:00 to 11:45 A.M. Pacific Time to discuss…
There will be a department meeting to discuss… at … restaurant on Friday at noon. Please confirm by Wednesday noon.

Note the difference in the communications? In family and non-work related paradigms, time seems to free flow like water running down stream. In the business world, time is purchased. It has a preset value per hour depending on the needs of the company. It is a resource that is closely guarded and tightly scheduled.

As I talk to people, it has often occurred to me that they would be so much better off, so much happier –so much more successful if they only made one change. That change involves understanding the value of their time. Time is the one resource that every individual receives an equal allotment of every single day. EVERYONE gets exactly 24 hours.

There is a saying, “Time is Money!” Businesses understand this because they have to purchase time. Just how closely the skills of an individual match the needs of a company determines the price that the company is willing to pay for the employee’s time.

As employees, we know the value of eight hours of our time, but what about the other sixteen hours of our day? How much is your time really worth? How would you feel if someone walked into your house and took some money out of your wallet and walked out your door? Would you call the police or just not say anything because it would be considered rude?

It is interesting how people allow others to steal their time because they don’t want to be considered discourteous. Do you give away your time for things of very little worth or willingly sell it for nickels and dimes? Do you budget your time as well as you budget your money?

Perhaps you would do well to make a time budget just like you make a money budget. Every day you have a time income of 24 hours. How will you spend it? You can’t save it! At the end of the day your time balance is zero, but –there is (or could be) value for what you purchased with your time. Are you satisfied with your purchase?

 -Only you can choose how you budget your time.

The difference between highly effective people and the average person is how they budget their time and what they purchase with it.

5 Responses to TIME

  1. Heidi says:

    lol! Mom, This is almost as good as getting to spend 20 minutes sitting and visiting with you. Not quite as good since I have to type in a reply instead of hug you and laugh while you are talking about it!

  2. janetwalgren says:

    Heidi, I love you and nothing will ever be as good as a face to face conversation with you that is interrupted with “I love you” and hugs and is ended with “I love you!” I think that I am very lucky to be your mother. I love you.

  3. Heidi says:

    love you too mommy!

  4. marlajayne says:

    This is a great post! When I multiply 24 times 7, I get 168 hours, the same number that you, I, and President Bush all have to work, play, read, cook, daydream, drive, blog, or whatever our hearts (and bosses) desire. I think (but I’m not sure) that it was Benjamin Franklin who said something like, “Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time for that’s what life is made of.” As I’ve gotten older (er, matured), I’ve gotten better at saying NO to requests that steal precious minutes and YES to the things that add zest and pleasure to my life. As I’ve heard many times before, no one on her death bed ever said, “Gee, I wish I’d spent more time at the office.”

  5. Marlajayne,

    Thanks for the comment. I do believe that you can tell a lot about a person by how disciplined they are in the productive use of time. Prophet Gordon B. Hinckley said, “One of the greatest tragedies we witness almost daily is the tragedy of men of high aim and low achievement. Their motives are noble. Their proclaimed ambition is praiseworthy. Their capacity is great. But their discipline is weak. They succumb to indolence. Appetite robs them of will.”1979

    I’ve gotten pretty good at saying no when I should, but then it is mind over mattress that presents the battle. As I get older, I’m finding that I love naps.

Leave a Reply

